About NEET

National Eligibility and Entrance Test or NEET is the one examination which would be considered for filling about 54,000 medical seats across the country. As per the Supreme Court’s order in 2016, NEET would be the only examination to fill the All India Quota Seats as well as the State Level Quota seats across the country.

NEET is conducted annually to provide admissions to MBBS and BDS courses in medical and dental institutions across the country.

NEET Qualification​ for 2022

  • Candidates must have passed/appeared for class 12 or an equivalent exam. Candidates appearing for the class 12 exams are also eligible.
  • Physics, Chemistry, Biology/Biotechnology and English must be the major, mandate subjects.
  • Candidates must have obtained the required aggregate marks in the qualifying examinations:
  • General category – 50% marks in the qualifying examinations.
  • SC/ST/OBC category – 40% marks in the qualifying examinations.
  • Physically handicapped: General category – 45% marks in the qualifying examinations.
  • Physically handicapped: SC/ST/OBC category – 40% marks in the qualifying examinations.

NEET Exam Pattern 2022 – Highlights​

Refer to the table provided below to know about the NEET 2022 Exam pattern:

Exam NameNEET (National Eligibility cum Entrance Test)
Conducting BodyNTA (National Testing Agency)
Mode of ExamPen-paper based
Expected number of ApplicantsAround 16-17 lakhs
Exam Duration3 hours
Seats OfferedAdmission of around 1 lakh MBBS and BDS seats under 85% State quota and 15% All India quota
Courses OfferedMBBS, BDS, AYUSH and other Courses
Number of Questions180 questions (MCQs) + 20 Optional Questions
Type of questionsObjective type questions with 4 options – 1 correct answer
SubjectsQuestions are asked from Physics, Chemistry, and Biology (Botany & Zoology)
Questions from sections

Physics – 45 questions + 5 Optional Questions

Chemistry – 45 questions + 5 Optional Questions

Biology (Botany + Zoology) – 90 questions + 10 Optional Questions

LanguageThe question paper is asked in 11 languages – English, Hindi, Urdu, Bengali, Oriya, Tamil, Kannada, Telugu, Marathi, Gujarati and Assamese.
Marking Scheme4 marks are awarded for each correct answer.
Negative Marking1 mark is deducted for each wrong answer

NEET Exam Pattern


The NEET Exam duration 3 hours. Each correct answer attracts 4 marks and 1 mark is deducted for each wrong answer. For every unanswered question, marks are neither be awarded nor be deducted.